Charles Sturt University
Charles Sturt University

Regional Entrepreneurship

Research Area leaders:

Professor Morgan Miles

Professor Morgan Miles

  • Overview
  • Members
  • Projects
  • Current Students
  • PhD/DBA Topics

Overview

Regional Entrepreneurship focuses on understanding how entrepreneurship contributes to the development and economic viability of regional communities and their entrepreneurial ecosystems. The Faculty’s main interest pertains to the interrelationships of a region’s culture, social networks, institutions, infrastructure, and stocks of financial, built, natural and human capitals interact to create economic, environmental and social outcomes in regional communities.  Also, the Faculty hopes to stimulate interest in how a broader perspective of entrepreneurship may be used to guide policy and practice in regional communities that enhance key dimensions of the region’s quality of life such as access to health care, education, and jobs.

The Faculty of Business, Justice and Behavioural Science’s Regional Entrepreneurship Research Group aims to promote and support a diverse portfolio of research that contributes to regional community economic and social development.  Topics include the policies and practices that support Ag Tech, Start-Ups, government support programs, and the effects on regionally based entrepreneurs and small businesses of policy changes in community services such as health care, disability care, and educational programs.

Members

NameTitle/PositionEmailLocation
Katherine Attree 

Katherine Attree

Lecturer

kattree@csu.edu.au

Bathurst

Larissa Bamberry 

Larissa Bamberry

Senior Lecturer

lbamberry@csu.edu.au Albury
Rui Bi 

Rui Bi

Senior Lecturer rbi@csu.edu.au

Albury

Oliver Burmeister 

Oliver Burmeister

Professor

oburmeister@csu.edu.au

Bathurst

Abhishek Dwivedi 

Abhishek Dwivedi

Senior Lecturer adwivedi@csu.edu.au

Albury

Mark Frost  Mark Frost Associate Professor mfrost@csu.edu.au Bathurst
Xiaodi Huang 

Xiaodi Huang

Associate Professor       xhuang@csu.edu.au

Albury

Jodie Kleinschafer  Jodie Kleinschafer Lecturer

jkleinschafer@csu.edu.au

Bathurst
Branka Krivokapic-Skoko  Branka Krivokapic-Skoko Associate Professor bkrivokapic@csu.edu.au Bathurst
Euan Lindsay  Euan Lindsay Professor elindsay@csu.edu.au Bathurst
Michael Mehmet  Michael MehmetSenior Lecturer mmehmet@csu.edu.au Bathurst
Morgan Miles  Morgan Miles Professor mmiles@csu.edu.au Bathurst
Mark Morrison  Mark Morrison Professor mmorrison@csu.edu.auBathurst
Alain Neher 

Alain Neher

Lecturer

aneher@csu.edu.au

Bathurst

Felicity Small  Felicity SmallSenior Lecturer fsmall@csu.edu.au Bathurst
Alfred Wong  Alfred Wong Senior Lecturer awong@csu.edu.au Bathurst

Projects

Current Students

Name Award Topic Supervisor
Mariya Yesseleva-PionkaPhDAustralian small and medium-sized enterprises and their access to external debt financeProfessor Adam Steen  
asteen@csu.edu.au
02 6338 4932
Neelam GoelaPhDAccounting and financial decision-making in migrant small businesses in AustraliaAssoc Professor Branka Krivokapic-Skoko
bkrivokapic@csu.edu.au
02 6338 4428
Juergen HirschDBAMotivators and  barriers to internal, social-media driven open innovation communities in financial servicesDr Herbert Fischer
John Edward Somerville LawsonDBAExploring organisational effectiveness of not-for-profit organisations:  outcomes accountability, governance and capacity measurementAssoc Professor Branka Krivokapic-Skoko
bkrivokapic@csu.edu.au
02 6338 4428

PhD/DBA Topics

The following opportunities exist in regional business development:

SupervisorTopic
Professor Mark Morrison
mmorrison@csu.edu.au
02 6338 4253

Entrepreneurship in regional Australia

Indigenous business entrepreneurship

Categorising types of entrepreneurs across regions, their practices and capabilities, and understanding how to support them.

Associate Professor Branka Krivokapic-Skoko
bkrivokapic@csu.edu.au
02 6338 4428

Contribution of immigrants in regional Australia to entrepreneurship

Indigenous business entrepreneurship.